Social Revolution for Women

In less than 2 weeks I will be running my first Marathon. This weekend I did my final long training run of 22 miles and it went great. I can certainly see myself running 4.2 more miles and I’m beginning to wonder if I’m made for ultras.

Yesterday someone posted on my FB wall about Kathrine Switzer, the first woman to run the Boston Marathon in 1967. When co-race director Jock Semple found out there was a woman in the race he chased after her yelling, “Get the hell out of my race and give me that race number.” She was shielded by her boyfriend and other male runners through the rest of the race.

20120924-181932.jpg

My Mum sent me this email this morning.

Good Morning Mary:

I never realized how important it is for you to be in the marathon until now. It wasn’t until, 1972, that the, Boston Athletic Association, officially allow women, for the first time to enter the, Boston Marathon. That was just 40 years ago and women are still being held back by our country. One day strong women will be viewed with the respect they deserve.

You are an inspiration for women, Mary. We are so very proud of you and your journey to move forward with improving your quality of life and learning more about who is, Mary.

Love you,
Mum

I always forget what a big deal it is until I’m reminded about it. The Olympics this year was a big reminder. It was a big deal that women this Olympics competed in 46 percent of the 300 events, more than any previous Olympics. I also read Born to Run this year where they depict Ann Trason, one of few ultra marathon runners (100 mile runs) and kind of felt like people still have a lot of prejudices against women. I’m not a competitive person but I guess all my life I’ve pushed boundaries and stigmas I always kind of felt were there, like playing sports especially ice hockey, working in IT, doing outdoors sports, carpentry, and enjoying a good beer. 🙂 I think women have accomplished some amazing things throughout history and it has always been inspiring to me. And I can’t wait to see what more we’ll bring to the world, including myself as I start my journey into the world of medicine over the next 2 years.

Leave a Reply

