Two Cool Things I’m Looking Forward To

I have several things coming up that I’m looking forward to. Two of them are a Habitat for Humanity project and Global Life Sciences Research Weekend.

Habitat for Humanity organizes volunteer run projects to revitalize homes and communities. It is easy to sign up. I picked a day to sign up for the hours from 8:30 am to 4:30 pm. You work together with other volunteers on various parts of home or housing from demolition to framing to roofing. I have some carpentry skills learned from my father growing up so I’m really hoping they can be put to use. But, I’m more than happy to help with anything I can. Some of my friends looked at me like I was nuts for wanting to take one of my weekend days off to do this. But, I couldn’t think of anything more awesome than to help provide a roof over someone’s head who needs it most. Plus I love getting dirty and building stuff. And who knows, I could meet some amazing people. So why not? Here’s a Facebook page a project lead made for one of the projects: Westway 3.3 – Habitat for Humanity Project

The other thing I’m looking forward to is Global Life Sciences Research Weekend. This is an opportunity to learn about the amazing research projects and scientists we have in our Seattle Community. It’s going on from Friday to Sunday, Nov. 2nd – 4th. NWABR has a blog that highlights some of the things students have learned from the organization in the past. I’m pretty excited about the weekend and can’t wait to learn about ongoing projects and meet scientists that have a passion for what they do. I hope to be one of them in the future!

Leave a Reply

