The Feeling of Flying

The other day someone was telling me about Las Vegas’ Stratosphere. I wish I knew about this when I was in Vegas in March. I totally would have gone. Vegas’ Stratosphere Tower is the tallest freestanding observation tower in the US and has 4 main attractions, SkyJump (controlled free fall), Insanity (spinning up to a force of 3Gs), X-scream (giant teetor totter at 866 feet above ground), and Big-Shot (sling shot 160 feet in the air at 45 mph).

Since I was a kid I somehow got the obsession with the feeling of flying. It wasn’t until I was 17 and took my first job in IT that I got to fly in an airplane and I quickly grew a love for flying. I went up with one of my friends learning to fly in both a sea-plane and a helicopter. The same thing for amusement park rides. My first experience of a roller coaster, I wanted to keep getting back in the ride. I loved ice skating because I also got that same feeling of flying. Running does that for me too. So I guess you could say I’m a bit of an adrenaline junkie. I still want to jump out of a plane. Though, sure I am truly scared, this is where I can feel truly fearless, which is how I’d prefer to live my life, but not with complete risk of course. A lot of people have recognized over my life how I am fearless. I know why. I have experienced a lot of difficult things and have learned its better to try than to just live your life in fear. It’s easier to just deal with those difficult situations than it is to anticipate what could happen.

Leave a Reply

