You’ll Never Know Unless You Try It

Well, I dropped chemistry half way through the quarter. I was either not going to pass it or get a D, which I am pretty sure is just as worthless as an F. Being in work and school nearly killed me. I ended up with both the norovirus and pneumonia and was dealing with something near and dear to my heart. After all that stress, I found myself asking myself, can I really do this for 4-5 more years? Is this really going to make me happy? Is this worth it? And the answer I came up with was no, it was not worth it at the risk of my own happiness. There must be some other way to switch my career into healthcare. So some may see this as a failure, but I see it as a valuable lesson learned. In that time I was making this decision, I looked up the Actions to Happiness exercise and did it to see what I think is important to me vs. how I actually am living my life (the “hired detective” ratings) and recognized if I continued on this path I would further diverge from what’s truly important to me.

Personal ranking

Top 6 – Essentials
Family
Spouse/partner
Friends
Positive impact on society
Health and fitness
Time for leisure and relaxation

Middle 6 – nice to haves
Personal growth
Where you live
Wealth/savings
Stimulating/rewarding work
Independence
Making use of talents

Bottom 6 – Non-Essentials
Influence and power
Income
Spirituality/faith

“Hired Detective” ranking

Top 6 – Essentials
Spouse/partner
Where you live
Health and fitness
Family
Friends
Wealth/savings

Middle 6 – nice to haves
Positive impact on society
Time for leisure and relaxation
Income
Influence and power
Personal growth
Independence

Bottom 6 – Non-Essentials
Stimulating/rewarding work
Making use of talents
Spirituality/faith

What are your Top 6? And if you were a hired detective investigating your life, what would you really think your top 6 are? Do they match up or are they vastly different?

Leave a Reply

