Learning to Cook New Recipes

I’ve been getting bored of making the same old dinners, so set out to learn a few new recipes. They’re probably not the healthiest of recipes, but they were really good.

1. Cumin-Spiced Fish Tacos with Avocado-Mango Salsa

I made these last week and my boyfriend already asked me to make them again yesterday! The first time I used cod instead of tilapia. And yesterday I used halibut, which didn’t make much of a difference for such an expensive fish (it was actually a little to dry with this rub). I think I’ll stick with cod although it made our apartment a little stinky. The rub for the fish is super easy to make and the avocado-mango salsa is super delicious. It is also really quick to make.

2. Grilled Chicken Florentine Pasta

This was the first time (well maybe second, but actually super successful) I made sauce from scratch and it was delicious! I added grilled broccoli as suggested. We don’t have a grill. But, this works just fine in a pan on the stove. One of those meals where you get leftovers great for lunches. I’d even make it not with chicken on the bone, but just chicken breasts. I’m sure if a chef saw me trying to cut chicken off a bone and cursing burning my fingers they’d be shaking their head at me.

3. Zucchini-Beef Enchiladas

I learned how to make enchiladas, finally! And it was easy. Why haven’t I made enchiladas before? Did a spinach salad on the side cos I wanted some more veggies. But, these do have zucchini in them and it does make them very yummy.

4. Frito Chili Pie

I like this even more than Taco Soup. Maybe I’m addicted to cumin, chili powder, salt, pepper and cayenne pepper. Because everything that has those, I love. You can definitely eat this without the Fritos too. Like I did for lunch today. So also makes great leftovers.

Leave a Reply

