Volume Depletion Disorder

I’m going to talk about something that has been a real pain in my tukkus. Actually, it is especially tonight considering I am vomiting and having a hard time keeping fluids down. I have what’s called volume depletion disorder. And I’m an athlete which makes it harder to keep on top of. And it sucks.

Volume depletion is the loss of both water and salts from cell volume. Although volume depletion is obviously associated with dehydration, dehydration is not the same as volume depletion, because dehydration refers to water loss without salt loss.

My blood results always show my sodium levels are too low, and I am borderline anemic no matter what I do. The past week has been fairly hot in Seattle and I’ve been running, swimming, biking, and doing strength training, spending a fair amount of time outside. I think I am doing a decent job of staying on top of my fluids and adding salt to my food, but apparently I have not. I ran my medium-long 7 mile run home tonight and shortly after I felt ill like I was going to faint. I tried to make dinner, and standing just made me feel like I am going to collapse. And then the vomiting started. And then the room when white. And then more vomiting. It is extremely frustrating. And it makes me really sympathize with others who have diseases or disorders like T1 diabetes where they constantly have to stay on top of it. I have tried salt sticks. I’ve tried monitoring my water and Nuun intake. And still once in a while it really gets the best of me.

Last July, we went on a trip to Utah and near the end of the trip I ended up in the hospital for volume depletion disorder, having lost nearly 4 liters of fluids. That was my worst experience ever with this disorder. I seriously thought I was going to die. I won’t go into the gory details, but it was horrifying. It took a good 3 weeks to recover fully from that episode. And I never ever want to experience it like that again.

So there, I got that off my chest. I hate volume depletion disorder and it sucks. But, if anyone has figured out how to deal with it effectively, please let me know. I need to know.

Leave a Reply

