Multiple Workouts a Day: Triathlon Training & Strength Training

Now that I’ve entered triathlon season and I am determined to strength train multiple times a week (I tend to skimp on that during Marathon/running season), I’m adjusting to multiple workouts a day. And some days, it’s just not happening like today. I’m exhausted and listening to my body.

Last week I was a little too gung-ho about doing strength training 5 times a week. At first it seemed fine, but not having a complete rest day makes it difficult for your body to recover and heal.

Last week I tried this:
Fri – 5K Race
Sat – Issaquah Sprint Triathlon & Strength Training
Sun – Swim, Run, and Yoga
Mon – Run & Strength Training
Tues – Rest Day/Yoga/Stretching
Wed – Strength Training at lunch, Run Home, Open Water Swim, Run after swim
Thurs – Strength Training at lunch, Run Medium Long Run

And this week I was supposed to try this:
Sat – Medium Long Run
Sun – Swim, Long Ride, Short Run
Mon – Strength Training
Tues – Run Home, Swim after dinner
And it’s only Tues and I’m like nope, not happening. Granted I didn’t get enough sleep last night.
Wed – Strength Train at lunch, Run Home, Swim, Run After
Thurs – Strength Train at lunch, Run Home, Swim after dinner
Fri – Rest Day
Sat – 5 Mile Trail Race
Sun – Lake Meridian Sprint Tri

And I miss just being able to run and concentrate on running. Each run now feels like a struggle when it used to be my most favourite thing in the universe. And I know, I’m bad. I only bike one day a week with a brick workout.

So triathletes… how do we do this?

Leave a Reply

